2017/2018 Principality Premiership
Newport 19 v 31 Cardiff
27 August 2017 - Rodney Parade, Newport

Match Preview


What could be better than to start the new season and a new era with a home game against Cardiff RFC – our oldest rivals and our oldest friends.  The Black & Ambers look to begin where they ended last season, playing high-tempo rugby and scoring exciting tries.

New captain, Rhys Jenkins, is perfect for the role, first name on the team sheet, respected by his team mates and very popular with the Rodney Parade faithful.  We have seen some players move on and we wish them luck but some exciting new players have been recruited and we look forward to seeing them develop into regular first team performers.

Cardiff has seen some changes too with new coach, Steve Law, joining from Bedwas and I’m sure that ‘Spot’ will bring his brand of rugby to the Blue & Blacks. Several Newport players moved down the road too and I’m sure that we will give them the traditional warm welcome.

The Newport coaches have gone for an adventurous team for Sunday with Tom Piper forcing himself into the front row after making a big impact off the bench at Ampthill.  The hooking position is probably the tightest call with three players battling it out but Will Evans gets the nod.  Morgan Burgess gets a chance at 6 in front of the home crowd.  Owen Davies and Matt O’Brien brings experience at half back and the centre pairing of Chay Smith and Tom Pascoe looks settled.  Surprises on both wings as new boys, Curtis Ayling and Harri Lang make the starting line-up.  Hayden Simons moves to full-back in the absence of Geraint O’Driscoll.

Please not that for those purchasing match tickets on the day it will be CASH ONLY. Season tickets can be purchased leaving card details. 

Newport Team: Nick Boyce, Will Evans, Tom Piper, James Little, Joe Bartlett, Morgan Burgess, Alex Everett, Rhys Jenkins@, Owen Davies, Matt O’Brien, Curtis Ayling, Tom Pascoe, Chay Smith, Harri Lang, Hayden Simons.

Replacements: Henry Palmer, Phil Price, Garin Harris, Adam Brown, Kyle Tayler, Ryan Bates, Adam Sabri, Jon Morris.

Kick off: 2:30 PM